Southeastern Pygmy Rattlesnake
(Sistrurus miliarius)

There are actually three different subspecies of the Sistrurus miliarius:


The Carolina Pygmy Rattlesnake or Sistrurus miliarius miliarius can be found between

Southeastern North Carolina to Southern South Carolina and

Westward to Alabama.




The Dusky Pygmy Rattlesnake or Sistrurus miliarius barbouri can be found from Southern

South Carolina to the Florida Peninsula and westward to

Southeastern Mississippi.




The Western Pygmy Rattlesnake or Sistrurus miliarius streckeri can be found between

Southwestern Kentucky to southeastern Mississippi and

Westward to Eastern Texas and Oklahoma.




Despite the several different subspecies each of these falls under the genus Sistrurus miliarius

species and the only difference is that the 'Carolina', 'Dusky', and 'Western' are snakes specialized

to a specific area in the United States. Snakes from these areas range from sizes between 12 and

24 inches. A unique characteristic about this snake

is that its tail rarely has more than 3 or 4 rattles.

These snakes range from North Carolina, South

Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Mississippi,

Kentucky, Tennessee, Louisiana, Arkansas, Texas,

Oklahoma, and Missouri.


For information about more organisms, visit Multiple Organisms!

Click here for more information about the University of Wisconsin La Crosse!

(This site was last updated April 14, 2011)


Previous Page                                            Home                                            Next Page