Classifying the Platypus

Back to Home

Domain: Eukarya

        The Platypus has Eukaryotic cells with membrane bound organelles.

Kingdom: Animalia

        The Platypus responds to stimuli and are multicelluar organisms.

Phylum: Chordata

        The Platypus has a ventral nerve cord, pharyngeal slits and a tail.  There are also three subphyla of Chordata, the Platypus belongs in the Vertebrata.

Class: Mammalia

        The Platypus produces milk for the young through mammary glands like all mammals.  It also is warm blooded and has three specialized bones in the ear for hearing, also it has no visible ears.

Order: Monotremata

        A monotreme is simply a mammal that produces young by eggs instead of having live-birth.

Family: Ornithorhynchidae

         The Platypus is the sole survivor of the whole family of the Ornithorhynchidae.  They are characterized by having the duck-bill, a flat tail for swimming and have hard plates in the mouth, instead of teeth.  

Genus:  Ornithorhynchus

        Any Ornithorhynchus is a member of the family, Ornithorhynchidae, in which case, it must be a Platypus!

Species: Ornithorhynchus anatinus