Domain- Eukaryota

Eukaryotic cells are much larger than prokaryotic cells.  They contain an organelle called the nucleus, or nuclear envelope, which hold the genetic material.

Kingdom- Animalia

The kingdom Animalia lack a cell wall, are heterotrophs, and goes through the blastula stage during embryonic development.

Phylum- Mollusca

All species of the phylum Mollusca possess a mantle that is used for breathing and/or excretion.  They are soft-bodied and may contain a calcium carbonate shell.

Class- Gastropoda

Gastropods have the  second highest diversity class just below the class Arthropoda (insects).  Named after their muscular foot, which is also the location of their stomach.

Order- Stylommatophora

Terrestrial snails and/or slugs.  They are lung breathing organisms.  Unlike aquatic snails they have eyes at the end of their tentacles (Poweshiek skipper project, 2005)

Family- Helicodiscidae

This family consist of small air breathing snails. Primarly found in North America and parts of Europe.

Genus- Helicodiscus

 These snails have a smaller, disk or coined shaped shell.  They drag or carry their shell over the posterior end of the foot or pulled forward to the middle area of the foot (Pilsbry, 1998).

Species- Helicodiscus shimeki

Temperate coil snail named in honor of the late Bohwiel Shinek of Iowa City, Iowa (Hubricht 1962).