Spilogale putorius- the Eastern Spotted Skunk





Domain: Eukaryote

Organisms in this domain are characterized by a contained nuclei and membrane bound organelles.

Kingdom: Animalia

Every animal will fall under the Animalia kingdom, meaning that they will all be multicellular and heterotrophic. There is an estimation of 9 to 10 million animals that roam the globe. Most animals will be diploid and will have cells that do not contain a cell wall (Myers 2001).

Phylum: Chordata

All chordates at some stage in their life had to have a notochord, which stretches the length of the body for motion support. Also they will have three tissue layers, a digestive system, closed circulatory system, bone or cartilage endoskeleton, and a nerve chord ending with the brain (Myers 2001).

Class: Mammalia

All mammals share three common characteristics: three middle ear bones (anvil, hammer, and stirrup), hair, and mammary glands for milk production. Mammalia may have common traits, but the diversity is so large that classifying organisms is extremely difficult. They can range from a few grams to several tons (Myers et al. 2005).

Order: Carnivora

There are around 270 species that inhibit this order. Although there is a common misconception that all organism in this order are carnivores that is wrong. There are a variety of organisms that do not feed on other animals, such as bats, primates, and marsupial mammals (Poor).

Family: Mephitidae

This is a fairly new family that includes skunk and stink badgers. The stink badger, Mydaus, was just recently added to this family after molecular research. Almost all species that are in the Mephitidae family will have a pattern on the coats, but their most distinct characteristic is the anal gland that produce toxic odors to fight off threats. Spotted skunks are the smallest and the largest is the Hog-nosed skunk. Skunks and stink badgers are also nocturnal and not very territorial (Wund 2005).

This phylogenetic tree represents all Carnivores and the orange section include the family of the Spotted Skunk.

Genus: Spilogale

The Spilogale, also known as spotted skunk. There are five members of the Spilogale genus, Spilogale putorius, Spilogale pygmae, Spilogale angustifrons, Spilogale aquaticus, and Spilogale gracilis (Myers et al. 2014).

Spilogale putorius

The Spilogale putorius, also known as the eastern spotted skunk, is the smallest skunk in the Spilogale genus. They have unique characteristics compared to its relatives (Myers et al. 2014).



This phylogenetic tree represents the species of Spotted Skunk.

Explanation of Scientific Name (Bullock 2008)-

Spilo: Spot

Gale: Weasel

Putorius: Fetid Odor


To continue exploration, pressed forward to the Habitat page!

May also be of help: