So you’re probably wondering, “Where does the Mute Swan fit in this world?”  Well… Let me break it down for you…

Domain: Eukarya
All members classified in the Eukarya domain possess membrane bound organelles and a true nucleus.


Kingdom: Animalia
All members classified in the Kingdom
Animalia are multicellular.  Their cells are organized into groups called tissues and lack cell walls.  They do not undergo photosynthesis but rather ingest their nutrients; this means that they are heterotrophs.

Phylum: Chordata
All members in the Phylum
Chordata possess (at some point in development) a notochord, dorsal nerve cord, endostyle, pharyngeal pouches and a postanal tail.

Class: Aves
All members in this class are called birds!
  They have wings, a beak, internal fertilization, amniotic eggs, air cavities in their skeleton, and are endothermic.

Order: Anseriformes
All members of this order have feet that are either partially or entirely webbed.
  They also all live near aquatic environments and have a broad flat bill.  Animals within this group include ducks, geese, and swans (like the black-necked swan; a relative of the Mute!).

Family: Anatidae
All members in the
Anatidae family have fully webbed feet and are good swimmers.  This is partially due to the special oils found in their feathers that repel water.

 Genus: Cygnusphylogeny
All members in the Cygnus Genus are swans and are characterized by their long slender neck, white plumage and breathtaking beauty. The phylogenetic tree to the right shows a break of this Genus into its species!

Species: Cygnus olor
The more common name for this species is the Mute Swan!
  The species name olor literally means swan!

Click the Next button below to learn about the Nutrition of the Mute Swan!

Previous     -----     Home     -----     Next