Phylogenetic Trees

Phylogenetic Tree for Catfish
                          Courtesy: Tree of Life Web Project 2007

This tree includes twelve different species all under the same genus, Ictalurus. Of the twelve total species, there are eight living and four extinct species. In the tree there are also two different subclades. One being furcatus (blue catfish) and the other being punctatus (channel catfish). This phylogenetic tree along with tons of other information on catfish in general can be found here.

phylogenetic tree for every family of catfish
                                                                       Courtesy: Tree of Life Web Project 2003

This tree is much more broad and spans every family of Catfish. The family Ictaluridae is the group where the Blue Catfish can be found on this tree. This phylogenetic tree can be found here.