Domain Eukarya
            There are 3 different domains: bacteria, archaea, and eukaryota. The characteristic that distinguishes the three is based apon membrane-enclosed organelles and if there is a presence or absence of a nucleus. Both bacteria and archaea domains do not have membrane-enclosed organelles and they both are absent of a nucleus (also known as prokaryotic cells). In comparison the domain eukarya where the organelles are enclosed with a membrane and contains a nucleus (or known as a eukaryotic cell). Linum marginale is made up of eukaryotic cells and have membrane-enclosed organelles and therefore is placed under the eukarya domain.


Kindom Plantae
            The domain eukarya is split into 4 kingdoms: protista, fungi, plantae, and animalia. Plantae are multicellular, autotrophic, photosynthesizing organisms with cell walls made of cellulose.


Phylum Charophyta

            The kindom plantae are divided into 3 major characteristics: seedless non-vascular plants, seedless vascular plants, and seed vascular plants.  Phylum charophyta is categorized under the seedless non-vascular plants due to their dependence on the environment to disperse their spores.



Class Equisetopsida
          Under the class equisetopsida, plants evolved xylem and phloem to become vascular plants that bear spores.  


Order Malpighiales
          Malpighiales is the order where the species, Linum marginale, becomes an angiosperm flowering plant.


Family Linaceae
            Linaceae is a family of flowering plants.

Genus Linum
            Plants in the linum genus are used as food plants.


Species Linum marginale


Continue onto Habitat
Go Home