Scientific name: Varanus komodoensis

Common name: Komodo Dragon

Classification Scheme:

Domain: Eukarya

The komodo dragon is classified under the domain of Eukarya because it is an eukaryotic organism. Eukaryotes do not possess a cell wall and have mitochondria within their cells.

 Kingdom: Animalia

The komodo dragon is classified under the kingdom of Animalia because it is multi-cellular and heterotrophic.

 Phylum: Chordata

The komodo dragon is classified under the phylum of Chordata because it possesses a notochord bilateral symmetry, segmented body, and a tail extending beyond its anus.

 Class: Reptilia

The komodo dragon can be classified under the class of repitilia because it is an amniote, meaning that its eggs are protected from desiccation and other environment dangers Another characteristic to be reptilia is by have scales and also by having lungs instead of scales.

Order: Squamata

The komodo dragon is able to be classified under Squamata because of its scaly skin and movable skulls. Only snakes and lizards are classified under this order. Some examples of other species in this Order are; reticulated python bearded dragons and the frilled neck lizard.



Family: Varanoidae

The komodo dragon is a part of this family because it is one of the largest lizards and is also a carnivore.

 Genus: Varanus

The komodo dragon is classified under the genus Varanus because it is considered a monitor lizard.

 Species: Varanus komodoensis

The komodo dragon got its species name because it is considered an dragon lizard.


This phylogenetic tree is based on the classification scheme that all organisms are classified under. It starts with the three main domains and works up from there. It ends showing some of the species that are in the Varanus genus. That is one interesting thing about the Varanidae family. It only has one genus.

Megan Borgen!


To learn about the komodo dragons habitat click here!

To return to the home page click here!